Willie Nelson Announces ‘The Willie Nelson Family’ Album & Shares New ‘Family Bible’ Recording

Willie Nelson will release The Willie Nelson Family album on November 19 via Sony Legacy Recordings. Nelson shared a re-recorded version of his song “Family Bible” that is one of 12-tracks on the forthcoming release.

The record features the 88-year-old outlaw country legend singing and playing his guitar Trigger while accompanied by his musical family members, sister Bobbie Nelson (piano), sons Lukas Nelson (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, lead vocals, background vocals) and Micah Nelson (drums, bass, background vocals) and daughters Paula Nelson (background vocals) and Amy Nelson (background vocals).

“Family Bible,” one of Willie’s earliest original songs, was written in 1957 and is among several of his compositions recorded for the new album. Produced by Willie and Steve Chadie, the album was recorded at Pedernales Studios in Austin, Texas. Among the other songs making up the tracklist are covers of Hank Williams’ “I Saw The Light,” Kris Kristofferson’s “Why Me,” the traditional hymn “In The Garden,” and with Lukas singing lead, George Harrison’s “All Things Must Pass” and A.P. Carter’s “Keep It On The Sunnyside.”

Others contributing to the album included Willie’s longtime collaborators, Mickey Raphael (harmonica), Billy English (drums), Kevin Smith (bass) and Paul English (percussion). The songs Heaven and Hell,” “Kneel at the Feet of Jesus,” “Laying My Burdens Down” and “Family Bible” were the final recordings Willie made with Paul English, who died February 11, 2020, at age 87. The two musicians first performed together in 1955.

Stream “Family Bible” from The Willie Nelson Family album below:

The Willie Nelson Family Tracklist

  1. Heaven and Hell (Willie Nelson)
  2. Kneel at the Feet of Jesus (Willie Nelson)
  3. Laying My Burdens Down (Willie Nelson)
  4. Family Bible (Claude Gray, Paul Buskirk & Walt Breeland)
  5. In the Garden (traditional)
  6. All Things Must Pass (George Harrison)
  7. I Saw the Light (Hank Williams, Sr.)
  8. In God’s Eyes (Willie Nelson)
  9. Keep It On the Sunnyside (A.P. Carter)
  10. I Thought About You, Lord (Willie Nelson)
  11. Too Sick To Pray (Willie Nelson)
  12. Why Me (Kris Kristofferson)