William Tyler & Marisa Anderson Join Yo La Tengo In New York City

William Tyler & Marisa Anderson Join Yo La Tengo In New York City

On Tuesday, Yo La Tengo held the third show of their 8 Nights Of Hanukkah residency at New York City’s Bowery Ballroom. The band welcomed special guests William Tyler and Marisa Anderson for their main set and teamed with Richard Hell and the Voidoids/Lovelies founding guitarist Ivan Julian for last night’s encore.

Tyler and Anderson performed a collaborative set to start the evening. All three members of Yo La Tengo joined the pair for a take on “Haunted By Water” from William and Marisa’s recently released Lost Futures album during the opening set. Last night’s bill also included comedian Roy Wood Jr.

Yo La Tengo emerged with Tyler and Anderson to start Night three’s main set with “You Are Here” from 2018’s There’s A Riot Going On. William and Marisa each played guitar for the bulk of the set with Tyler moving to keys at points and Anderson sitting out a few tunes. “You Are Here” led into “The Fireside” which gave way to “Damage” off 1997’s I Can Hear The Heart Beating As One.

“The Point Of It” was then followed by Bob Dylan’s “Love Minus Zero/No Limit,” the first cover of the set. Electr-O-Pura gem “The Ballad Of Red Buckets” came next before the musicians went without Anderson for “Shades Of Blue.” Marisa returned for “Flying Lesson (Hot Chicken #1)” and “Satellite” but left the stage for the ensuing instrumental “Tears Are In Your Eyes.”

Marisa Anderson came back for the final five songs of the set, which included covers of Jonathan Richman’s “She Cracked” and Delmore Brothers’ “Blues Stay Away From Me” as well as YLT originals “Shaker,” “Double Dare” and “Pass The Hatchet, I Think I’m Goodkind.”

The evening ended with Ivan Julian on guitar and vocals for a three-song encore. Julian augmented Yo La Tengo on Richard Hell and the Voidoids classics “The Kid With The Replaceable Head” and “Blank Generation,” which was split by the seminal punk band’s arrangement of Bob Dylan’s “Going, Going, Gone.”

Watch fan-shot video footage from last night’s show below:


Setlist (via Frank & Earthy)

Set (Entire Set with William Tyler & Marisa Anderson on guitars/keyboards except where noted): You Are Here > The Fireside > Damage, The Point Of It, Love Minus Zero/No Limit, The Ballad of Red Buckets, Shades of Blue (minus Marisa Anderson), Flying Lesson (Hot Chicken #1), SatelliteTears Are In Your Eyes (minus MA), Shaker, She Cracked, Double Dare, Pass the Hatchet, I Think I’m Goodkind > Blues Stay Away From Me

Encore (with Ivan Julian on guitar/vocals): The Kid With the Replaceable Head, Going, Going, Gone, Blank Generation