The Nth Power Details New Album ‘Reverence’

The Nth Power will issue Reverence, their first studio album in six years, this Wednesday, September 29. The soul trio also shared a performance video of lead track, “Reach Out.”

The Nth Power — guitarist Nick Cassarino, drummer Nikki Glaspie and bassist Nate Edgar — hinted at a new album when they announced 2021 fall tour dates in August. Reverence is The Nth Power’s follow up to their 2015 debut LP, Abundance. The band co-produced the new record along with Rick St. Hilaire (Alicia Keys, Tribe Called Quest, Earth Wind and Fire) and Will Bradford (SeepeopleS, theWorst). The trio recorded Reverence at Tree Sound Studios in Atlanta and Chillhouse Studios in Boston.

“Both musically and lyrically, Reverence presents a full-circle evolution in the trio’s distinctive sound, which taps into an energy that is often both sensual and spiritual, infusing high doses of rock, soul, funk, reggae, gospel and rhythm and blues,” press materials for the new album noted. “The new songs spread a deep message of hope, empathy, gratitude, self-forgiveness and, above all, attest to the universal power of love.

Reverence features contributions from late great Tedeschi Trucks Band multi-instrumentalist Kofi Burbridge — who sadly died on February 15, 2019 — on 10 of the album’s 11 tracks. Kofi plays keyboards throughout the record and also added a flute solo to “Joy.” The Nth Power dedicates the LP to Burbridge’s memory.

“It means everything that Kofi was playing with us before his transition,” Nick Cassarino shared in a press release. “He brought the same energy to the studio that he brought to the stage, that he brought to rehearsal, that he brought to dinner — greatness.”

Along with contributions from Kofi, the record sees guest vocals from Dumpstaphunk’s Ivan Neville and Nick Daniels III as well as saxophone from funk legend Maceo Parker on a reworking of The Nth Power’s song “Spirits,” which originally appears on their 2013 debut EP Basic Minimum Skills Test. Additionally, the band welcomed vocalist Cheryl Pepsii Riley on another reimagining, this time of the Abundance cut “Holy Rain.” Riley also guests on the gospel-tinged “Freedom.”

To preview the album, The Nth Power shared a video of lead track “Reach Out” from a 2019 Paste performance. Watch it below:

Reverence Tracklist

  1. Reach Out
  2. A New Day
  3. Joy
  4. Hero
  5. Spirits
  6. Will Never Leave
  7. Freedom
  8. 100 Milly
  9. Tribe
  10. Take My Soul
  11. Holy Rain