The National’s Matt Berninger Covers Velvet Underground’s ‘I’m Waiting For The Man’

The National frontman Matt Berninger shared a cover of The Velvet Underground’s “I’m Waiting For The Man.” Berninger’s rendition of the Lou Reed-penned number is set to land on the upcoming, star-studded album I’ll Be Your Mirror: A Tribute to the Velvet Underground & Nico due out on September 24 via Verve Records.

Berninger’s version of “I’m Waiting For The Man” — which he performed on Fallon late last year — is set to join interpretations of songs from The Velvet Underground’s 1967 debut album The Velvet Underground & Nico by Iggy Pop & Matt Sweeney, Kurt Vile & The Violators (who covered “Run Run Run”), R.E.M’s Michael Stipe, St. Vincent & Thomas Bartlett, Andrew Bird, Sharon Van Etten & Angel Olsen, Courtney Barnett and more. Renowned producer and friend of Lou Reed Hal Willner, who sadly died in 2020, executive produced the album.

Matt’s band for “I’m Waiting For The Man” consists of Sean O’Brien (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, mandolin, piano), Garret Lang (bass) and Sam KS (drums). Listen to Berninger on “I’m Waiting For The Man” below: