Tedeschi Trucks Band Welcomes J.J. Johnson In New Orleans

Tedeschi Trucks Band Welcomes J.J. Johnson In New Orleans

Tedeschi Trucks Band kicked off their two-night run at the Saenger Theatre in New Orleans on Friday. TTB welcomed former drummer J.J. Johnson for a cover from NOLA legend Allen Toussaint.

Tedeschi Trucks Band got the first frame underway with “Anyhow” from their 2016 album Let Me Get By. A cover of The Beatles’ “I Got A Feeling” fell in the second slot ahead of a segment of “Don’t Let Me Slide” and “Until You Remember” from the band’s Grammy-winning 2011 debut album, Revelator. TTB then got into The Allman Brothers Band catalog with “Don’t Keep Me Wondering” off ABB’s 1970 album Idlewild South. “Don’t Drift Away” from 2013’s Made Up Mind followed ahead of the Sleepy John Estes-penned, Taj Mahal recorded “Everybody Got To Change.” TTB then returned to Made Up Mind with “Whiskey Legs” and set-closer, “Idle Wind.”

The second set contained two nods to New Orleans legends beginning with Dr. John’s “I Walk On Guilded Splinters.” TTB then turned to their 2019 album Signs with “When Will I Begin” ahead of a cover of Junior Wells’ “Little By Little.” TTB then welcomed former drummer J.J. Johnson for the Allen Toussaint-penned, Lee Dorsey-recorded “Get Out My Life Woman.” Johnson was Tedeschi Trucks Band’s drummer, alongside Tyler Greenwell, from the group’s inception in 2010 up until his departure in Fall 2020.

Derek And The Dominos’ “Keep On Growing” came after the Johnson sit-in followed by guitarist Derek Trucks leading off a cover of the Mongo Santamaría jazz standard “Afro Blue” which led into “Shame” off Signs. The relatively new pairing, first appearing last year, of John Prine’s “Angels From Montgomery” and the Neil Young-penned CSNY song “Helpless” came next. While “Angel” has long been in the TTB repertoire, the band previously coupled it with Jerry Garcia and Robert Hunter’s “Sugaree.” “That Did It” capped off the second set. Susan Tedeschi then led TTB through a 15-minute version of their classic “Bound For Glory” for the encore.

Listen to full-show audio via Ed Tyre below:


Set One: Anyhow, I’ve Got A Feeling, Don’t Let Me Slide – Until You Remember, Don’t Keep Me Wondering, Don’t Drift Away, Everybody Got To Change , Whiskey Legs, Idle Wind

Set Two: Walk On Guilded Splinters, When Will I Begin, Little By Little, Get Out Of My Life Woman, Keep On Growing, Afro Blue > Shame, Angel > Helpless, That Did It

Encore: Bound For Glory