Spoon Details New Album ‘Lucifer On The Sofa’ & Shares Single

Spoon returns with their 10th studio album, Lucifer On The Sofa, via Matador Records on February 11, 2022. Today, the band released the LP’s lead single, “The Hardest Cut,” along with an accompanying video.

Lucifer On The Sofa marks Spoon’s first new album in five years. The follow-up to 2017’s Hot Thoughts was recorded in the band’s hometown of Austin, Texas and is described as their “purest rock ‘n roll record to date.”

Spoon co-produced the 10-track effort with Mark Rankin (Adele, Queens of the Stone Age). Dave Fridmann and Justin Raisen each contributed to Lucifer On The Sofa.

Frontman Britt Daniel co-wrote “The Hardest Cut” with bandmate Alex Fischel. “I spent a lot of 2018 and 2019 listening to ZZ Top,” Daniel said of the influence behind the first song written for the LP. Spoon stars in the video for the track as they perform in a spooky setting that gets bloody.

Watch Spoon’s “The Hardest Cut” video below:

Lucifer On The Sofa Tracklist

  1. Held
  2. The Hardest Cut
  3. The Devil & Mister Jones
  4. Wild
  5. My Babe
  6. Feels Alright
  7. On The Radio
  8. Astral Jacket
  9. Satellite
  10. Lucifer On The Sofa