Sam Bush Guests With Greensky Bluegrass In Louisville

Greensky Bluegrass welcomed Sam Bush during their two-night closer at Waterfront Park in Louisville, Kentucky on July 3. Bush joined GSBG halfway through the first set and the progressive bluegrass pioneer and Kentucky native stayed on for the entire second set and encore.

Greensky Bluegrass — mandolinist Paul Hoffman, guitarist Dave Bruzza, banjoist Michael Bont, bassist Mike Devol and dobro player Anders Beck — kicked off the concert with a pair of songs, “Letter To Seymour” and “In Control,” from their 2014 album, If Sorrows Swim. The band then turned to newer material with the title track and “What You Need” from their latest studio album, 2019’s All For Money.

After “Fixin’ To Ruin,” Bush emerged — Sam also recently sat in with GSBG at Telluride Bluegrass — on fiddle for “Butcher’s Girl,” a Steppin’ In It song GSBG dusted off for their first time since early 2019, as per Phantasy Tour. Sam then picked up his mandolin and led Greensky through their debut of “8 More Miles To Louisville.” Bush returned to the fiddle for “Broke Mountain Breakdown” into “Wings For Wheels” to close out the first set.

Sam emerged with the quintet on fiddle to get the second set underway with the staple “Windshield.” The traditional “Rueben’s Train” followed before a cover of The Beatles’ “Why Don’t We Do It In The Road?” launched a seamless section that also included GSBG originals “It’s Not Mine Anymore,” “Just To Lie” and “Who Is Frederico?” Sam added a tasty, extended fiddle solo on the latter which evolved into he and Beck trading licks. The GSBG classic “Reverend” came next ahead of the traditional “Cryin’ Holy Unto The Lord (Rock Where Moses Stood),” which has been played by bluegrass greats like Bill Monroe and Flatt & Scruggs.

A standalone “I”d Probably Kill You” followed before Greensky and Bush closed out the set with a continuous section beginning with “Leap Year” and heading into Pink Floyd’s “Time” and “Breathe Reprise” ahead of a return to “Leap Year.” Greensky Bluegrass and Sam Bush encored with the John Hartford — Bush has collaborated with the late great Hartford in the past — favorite “Steam Powered Aeroplane” to bring the evening to a close.

Watch audience-shot video of “8 More Miles To Louisville,” Windshield,” “It’s Not Mine Anymore” and Who Is Frederico?” below via the JamBase Live Video Archive:

Setlist (via Phantasy Tour)

Set One: A Letter to Seymour, In Control, All for Money, What You Need, Fixin To Ruin, Butcher’s Girl[1], 8 More Miles to Louisville[2][3], Broke Mountain Breakdown[1] > Wings for Wheels[1]

Set Two: Windshield[1], Reuben’s Train[1], Why Don’t We Do It in the Road?[1] > It’s Not Mine Anymore[1] > Just to Lie[1] > Who Is Frederico?[1], Reverend[1], Cryin’ Holy Unto The Lord (Rock Where Moses Stood)[1], I’d Probably Kill You[1], Leap Year[1] > Time[1] > Breathe Reprise[1] > Leap Year[1]

Encore: Steam Powered Aeroplane[1]

[1] w/ Sam Bush (fiddle)

[2] w/ Sam Bush (mandolin, vocals)

[3] first time played