Rainbow Girls Announce New EP ‘Rolling Dumpster Fire’

Rainbow Girls Announce New EP ‘Rolling Dumpster Fire’

Bay Area-based trio Rainbow Girls announced a new EP, Rolling Dumpster Fire, due out on December 6. The Rainbow Girls herald the EP with the single, “Free Wine,” which debuts today via their Facebook page at 5 p.m. PT.

As the pandemic took hold, Rainbow Girls delved into the virtual world, continuing to connect with fans and grow their fanbase via weekly Facebook performances and sharing videos of cover songs on YouTube. They complied standouts from the sessions for a Bandcamp exclusive “virtual live album” album titled While We Wait. But now the wait is over and the trio has a fresh output of original music to share.

“We wanted to give back to the people who showed up to support us when we weren’t able to play in-person shows,” the band said in a statement. “We recorded these songs in our home studio, set a dumpster on fire, and hatched a plan to leak this little record to the public one song at a time, by way of our Monday night Facebook Live video series.”

The first of those Facebook premieres, “Free Wine,” arrives this evening and the trio will release each new song weekly on Mondays up until December 6. Rainbow Girls’ Caitlin Gowdey detailed “Free Wine” in a press release:

Halfway through 2020 we managed to get a hold of 700 bottles of very nice wine from a winery that had unfortunately been damaged in one of the many California fires happening at the time. Due to insurance reasons, they couldn’t sell anything scorched, so we got to pick up the bottles and live like fancy wine kings for the rest of the year. I felt like we had stumbled into this bizarre social portal that we otherwise never could’ve afforded. I wrote this song about being an overthinking introvert who gets to live with an extrovert. Even if I’m depressed, I still get to live socially through this other amazing person; I still get to keep relationships that I surely would’ve lost by now. It’s an appreciative, thankful love song about support systems and how when you find one, it’s even better than free fancy wine.

Head over to Rainbow Girls’ Facebook page to catch the premiere of “Free Wine” at 5 p.m. PT.

Update: Stream “Free Wine” here:

Also check out the tracklist and EP art below:

Rolling Dumpster Fire Tracklist:

  1. Roads Must Roll
  2. Santa Anna
  3. Swimming
  4. Fake As A Dream
  5. Doesn’t Make Any Sense
  6. ????
  7. Free Wine