Phish Details ‘Live Bait Vol. 17’

Phish will release Live Bait Vol. 17 at midnight via LivePhish. The compilation boasts over three hours of music selected by archivist Kevin Shapiro and falling between the 20 year span of 1994 and 2014. Live Bait Vol. 17 will become available at 12 a.m. ET as a free MP3 download and streaming via

The collection kicks off with a classic “Mike’s Groove” segment — “Mike’s Song” > “I Am Hydrogen” > “Weekapaug Groove” — from Kansas City’s Municipal Auditorium on October 19, 1995. The “Weekapaug” was left unfinished (heading into “Lawn Boy”) and contained a tease of Blondie’s “Dreaming” from guitarist Trey Anastasio and elements of “Keyboard Army” from keyboardist Page McConnell, as per Next up is a “Tweezer” and “Makisupa Policeman” sequence which came midway through the second set at Oak Mountain in Pelham, Alabama ahead of the collection’s earliest entry, “Split Open and Melt” from Atlanta on October 25, 1994.

Live Bait Vol. 17 then heads back to ‘99 with a “Down With Disease” from Antioch, Tennessee on July 1 which kicked off a three-song second set. The next track in the compilation features just the second-ever (and fifth overall) “Chalk Dust Torture Reprise,” which was played ahead of “Chalk Dust Torture” at Deer Creek on July 11, 2000. A Hershey, Pennsylvania “Reba” with no whistling follows ahead of a 30-plus-minute “Runaway Jim” that began the second set on July 3 in Camden, New Jersey. A “Fluffhead” and “Lifeboy” segment from The Gorge in August ‘97 follows ahead of the 3.0 jam vehicle “Light” from Tahoe in 2011. The compilation concludes with a substantial “Simple” from the second set of the Dick’s “Lushington” show in 2014.

Live Bait Vol. 17 Tracklist:

  1. Mike’s Song > I Am Hydrogen > Weekapaug Groove (10/19/95 Kansas City, MO) 30:56
  2. Tweezer > Makisupa Policeman(9/28/99 Pelham, AL) 23:56
  3. Split Open And Melt(10/25/94 Atlanta, GA) 15:16
  4. Down With Disease(7/1/99 Antioch, TN)18:19
  5. Chalk Dust Torture Reprise > Chalk Dust Torture (7/11/00 Noblesville, IN)11:47
  6. Reba(8/14/96 Hershey, PA) 14:18
  7. Runaway Jim(7/3/00 Camden, NJ) 32:37
  8. Fluffhead > Lifeboy(8/3/97 George, WA)23:09
  9. Light(8/9/11 Stateline, NV) 16:05
  10. Simple(8/29/14 Commerce City, CO) 22:07

Phish returns to the stage on July 28 in Rogers, Arkansas. A livestream of Wednesday’s show and all of Phish Summer Tour 2021 are available via