My Morning Jacket Debuts New Songs At Tour Opener In Charlotte

My Morning Jacket played their first show in over two years last night at Charlotte Metro Credit Union Amphitheatre in Charlotte, North Carolina. The band, who performed just three concerts in March 2018 and another four in August 2019, debuted a total of seven new original songs over the course of the career-spanning set.

In the time since the last MMJ show, the band released the 2020 studio album, The Waterfall II and recorded their upcoming self-titled album, which they announced days ago and is set for release in October. Friday’s setlist featured the live debuts of five songs from The Waterfall II and two from My Morning Jacket.

The show began with the debut of “Regularly Scheduled Programming,” the self-titled LP’s lead single that was released along with the album’s announcement. The other My Morning Jacket song making its debut last night was the mid-set offering of “Lucky To Be Alive.”

The first The Waterfall II song debut came early in the set as frontman Jim James led his bandmates through “Feel You.” One song later came the first “Run It.” Later in the set, MMJ back-to-back debuted “Climbing the Ladder” and “Spinning My Wheels.” The final debut of the night came in the form of “Wasted” as the penultimate song of the set.

Friday’s performance also saw early-set renditions of “Compound Fracture,” “Spring (Among the Living)” and “Tropics (Erase Traces)” from 2015’s The Waterfall. The setlist also contained such classics as “I’m Amazed,” “I Will Sing You Songs,” “Golden” and an expansive “Dondante” that incorporated elements of “Where To Begin.”

The set closer was “Victory Dance” from 2011’s Circuital. The encore began with two tracks off 2005’s Z, “Wordless Chorus” and “Lay Low.” The band then sent the audience home with a pairing of “Touch Me I’m Going To Scream Pt. 2” and the celebratory “One Big Holiday.”

My Morning Jacket headlines the Railbird Festival tonight in Lexington, Kentucky. Watch audience-shot video of several of the debuts from Friday’s concert in Charlotte below:


My Morning Jacket at Charlotte Metro Credit Union Amphitheatre

  • Regularly Scheduled Programming  
  • Compound Fracture
  • Circuital
  • Feel You  
  • Spring (Among the Living)
  • Run It  
  • Tropics (Erase Traces)
  • I’m Amazed
  • I Will Sing You Songs
  • Lucky To Be Alive  
  • Golden
  • Climbing the Ladder  
  • Spinning My Wheels  
  • Dondante  
  • Wasted  
  • Victory Dance
  • Wordless Chorus
  • Lay Low
  • Touch Me I’m Going to Scream Pt. 2
  • One Big Holiday