Maren Morris Details New Album ‘Humble Quest’

Maren Morris will issue a new album, Humble Quest, on March 25 via Sony Music Nashville’s Columbia Nashville imprint. The Grammy-winning singer-songwriter released the album’s lead single, “Circles Around This Town,” last week.

Maren’s Humble Quest began at the outset of the pandemic, which was compounded by a myriad of other challenges for the singer-songwriter including “new motherhood, an upended career, the death of beloved friend and collaborator Michael Busbee and more,” as per press materials for the album.

“She felt control over life quickly slipping until she had a freeing realization—she was never in control in the first place,” the press release continued. “It’s from this place of personal truth and clarity amid darkness that Maren’s most genuine songs yet began to flow, creating an important distraction from the times rather than a snapshot of them.”

Morris penned the album’s 11 tracks on Busbee’s piano with her husband Ryan Hurd as well as frequent collaborators Julia Michaels, Jimmy Robbins, Natalie Hemby, Laura Veltz and Jon Green. Maren tapped another familiar collaborator, Greg Kurstin (Adele, Paul McCartney, Foo Fighters), to produce the album.

Humble Quest also sees Morris confronting the concept of humility, “​​in ways she’d never imagined as she thought about how the goal of appearing humble puts artists, especially women, in a box with unrealistic demands to keep them small,” as per the press release. “Am I humble enough now?” Maren muses. “Maybe. Or maybe I still haven’t found it yet. Or maybe, who cares as long as your friends and, most importantly, you know what your heart is all about? But here’s to taking the quest to find out.”

Humble Quest Tracklist:

  1. Circles Around This Town
  2. The Furthest Thing
  3. I Can’t Love You Anymore
  4. Humble Quest
  5. Background Music
  6. Nervous
  7. Tall Guys
  8. Detour
  9. Hummingbird
  10. Good Friends
  11. What Would This World Do