Lucius Announce New Album ‘Second Nature’ & Share Single

Lucius will release their third studio album, Second Nature, through Mom + Pop Music (U.S. andMexico), Dine Alone (Canada) and Second Nature Records/Secretly Distribution (RoW) on April 8. Co-produced by Dave Cobb and Brandi Carlile, the long-awaited follow-up to 2016’s Good Grief contains 10 new songs with lead single “Next To Normal” and an accompanying video out today.

Bandleaders Holly Laessig and Jess Wolfe wrote the tracks on Second Nature which was recorded primarily at the legendary RCA Studio A facility in Nashville. Longtime band members Peter Lalish and Dan Molad are featured on the LP as is Solomon Dorsey. Additional contributions came from Drew Erickson, Rob Moose and Gabriel Cabezas. Carlile and Sheryl Crow provided backing vocals on the track “Dance Around It.”

Laessig and Wolfe went through a series of huge events in their lives that informed the material on Second Nature including motherhood, divorce and the pandemic. “It is a record that begs you not to sit in the difficult moments, but to dance through them,” explained Wolfe in a press release. “It touches upon all these stages of grief—and some of that is breakthrough, by the way. Being able to have the full spectrum of the experience that we have had, or that I’ve had in my divorce, or that we had in lockdown, having our careers come to a halt, so to speak. I think you can really hear and feel the spectrum of emotion and hopefully find the joy in the darkness. It does exist. That’s why we made Second Nature and why we wanted it to sound the way it did: our focus was on dancing our way through the darkness.”

Brandi Carlile was thrilled to work with the group on her first co-production with longtime friend and collaborator Dave Cobb. “Lucius has been one of my favorite bands since their first studio album. I kept running into them at festivals and finding myself mystified by their power,” stated Carlile. “This album feels like home to me and anyone growing up surrounded by 80s and 90s pop, but somehow Second Nature is the beginning of a new era—not just for Lucius, but for all of us. We need to get back up on our feet and that’s what this album is insisting we do.”

Lucius will support Second Nature with their North American Spring Tour 2022 featuring Celisse opening most shows. The run begins in Massachusetts with stops at MASS MoCA in North Adams, Massachusetts on April 28 and at Boston’s Roadrunner on April 29. Next come performances in Portland, Maine on April 30; New York City on May 4; Montclair, New Jersey on May 6; Philadelphia on May 7; Washington D.C. on May 9; Raleigh on May 12; Atlanta on May 13; Nashville on May 14; Louisville on May 16; Cleveland on May 17; Toronto on May 18 and Chicago on May 20. The tour concludes at the Palace Theatre in St. Paul, Minnesota on May 21.

Tickets for Lucius’ spring tour dates go on sale this Friday, January 14 at 10 a.m. ET. Follow this link for pre-sale and more info.

Lucius tapped Jason Lester to direct the “Next To Normal” visual. Check out the music video below:

Second Nature Tracklist

  1. Second Nature
  2. Next To Normal
  3. 24
  4. Heartbursts
  5. Dance Around It (feat. Brandi Carlile and Sheryl Crow)
  6. The Man I’ll Never Find
  7. Promises
  8. LSD
  9. Tears in Reverse
  10. White Lies