Little Feat Releases New ‘Fat Man In The Bathtub’ Recording

Little Feat Releases New ‘Fat Man In The Bathtub’ Recording

Little Feat’s current lineup released a new version of the legendary band’s classic song, “Fat Man In The Bathtub.” The single was recorded in celebration of the 45th Anniversary of their landmark 1978 live album, Waiting For Columbus.

Written by late Little Feat co-founder Lowell George, “Fat Man In The Bathtub” first appeared on the band’s 1973 album, Dixie Chicken, and again on Waiting For Columbus. The new version features longtime members, keyboardist Bill Payne, guitarist Fred Tackett, bassist Kenny Gradney and percussionist Sam Clayton, along with recent additions, guitarist Scott Sharrard and drummer Tony Leone.

Joining them on the recording were guest vocalists Amy Helm and Catherine Russell as well as The Midnight Ramble Horns consisting of trumpeter Stephen Bernstein and saxophonists Jay Collins and Erik Lawrence. The track, which premiered via Relix, was recorded remotely and completed by engineer Charles A. Martinez.

Little Feat this week announced additional Waiting For Columbus 45th Anniversary Tour dates. The band will perform the storied live album in its entirety at each stop.

With Payne on lead vocals, the updated “Fat Man In The Bathtub” can be streamed below: