LCD Soundsystem Loads Setlist With Rarities At Brooklyn Steel Residency Opener

LCD Soundsystem had many treats in store on Tuesday for opening night of their 20-show residency at Brooklyn Steel in New York City. The setlist included three songs the band hadn’t played in over a decade, including a Joy Division cover, and the group kicked off the night with a debut Spaceman 3 cover.

James Murphy and company went without synth player Gavilán Rayna Russom who announced her departure from the group in an interview with Pitchfork published yesterday before the show. LCD Soundsystem began their first concert in over three years by premiering a take on Spacemen 3’s “Big City (Everybody I Know Can Be Found Here)” that needed to be restarted after the bass amp went down.

The 18-song performance featured more technical difficulties leading Murphy to note the concert was “the longest soundcheck, in front of the most people ever,” as per Setlist.FM. A successful “Big City” was followed by an “I Can Change” that included a taste of Kraftwerk’s “Radioactivity.” Next came the first version of Sound Of Silver gem “Time To Get Away” since August 3, 2016.

LCD Soundsystem rolled on with the beloved “Daft Punk Is Playing At My House” and “Call The Police,” which along with “Oh Baby” and “Tonite” represented the band’s 2017 studio album, American Dream, last night. From there the group dusted off “On Repeat” from their self-titled debut album for just its 16th play and first since July 12, 2007. LCD Soundsystem tracks “Tribulations” and “Movement” were paired later in the night and then a run of “Someone Great,” “Tonite” and “Home” led into a cover of Joy Division’s “No Love Lost” to end Tuesday’s main set. “No Love Lost” was last played by LCD Soundsystem on January 31, 2008.

The group started last night’s encore with their first “Thrills” since March 28, 2011. LCD Soundsystem then closed out the night with fan-favorites “Dance Yrself Clean,” “New York, I Love You But You’re Bringing Me Down” and “All My Friends.”

Watch fan-shot video footage of the entire concert below as well as higher quality clips featuring three songs from last night below:

Entire Show

Call The Police

Dance Yrself Clean


The Anti Hero (See 3 videos)
LCD Soundsystem (See 6 videos)


LCD Soundsystem at Brooklyn Steel

  • The Electrician  
  • Big City (Everybody I Know Can Be Found Here)  
  • I Can Change  
  • Time to Get Away  
  • Daft Punk Is Playing At My House
  • Call the Police
  • On Repeat  
  • Oh Baby
  • You Wanted a Hit
  • Tribulations
  • Movement
  • Someone Great
  • Tonite
  • Home
  • No Love Lost  
  • Thrills  
  • Dance Yrself Clean
  • New York, I Love You but You’re Bringing Me Down
  • All My Friends