King Crimson Details New Live Album ‘Music Is Our Friend’

King Crimson detailed a new live album, Music Is Our Friend, due out on November 19. Material on the double LP comes from the prog-rock pioneers’ 2021 Music Is Our Friend U.S. Tour.

More specifically, the 2-disc set features King Crimson’s entire final concert of the tour in Washington D.C. on September 11, which a statement on the band’s website described as “King Crimson’s final performance in North America.” Rounding out the collection is four songs from an intimate “Friends And Family” concert in Albany, New York on August 22.

“Taken together, these tracks represent both a beginning and an end of a tour that took place despite almost insurmountable issues,” the statement noted…“By the time King Crimson reached Washington DC, the band was in ferocious form with a powerful, energetic set with some arrangements reworked and differing from previous tours.”

“Featuring a restored middle section of ‘Larks’ Tongues In Aspic Part One’ that had not been played since 1973, substantial keyboard arrangements, Tony Levin on upright bass during ‘Neurotica’ giving the piece an extra swing, there’s an emotional set-closer, ‘Starless’ and an immensely powerful ‘21st Century Schizoid Man’ as an encore.”

King Crimson co-founder Robert Fripp noted an interesting fact on the “21st Century Schizoid Man” encore in D.C. “David (Singleton, KC manager/producer), pointed out that the very first piece KC played in the US, at Godard College, Montpelier, Vermont on October 29th. 1969, was the same piece as completed KC’s 52 years – 21CSM.”

The final four tracks on the album were performed during a “Friends And Family” concert at The Egg in Albany and “have a more intimate feel,” the statement noted. The Albany concert also boasts material not played in Washington D.C. due to time constraints.

Music Is Our Friend Tracklist:

CD One

  1. Introductory Soundscape
  2. The Hell Hounds Of Krim
  3. Larks’ Tongues In Aspic Part I
  4. Pictures Of A City
  5. The Court Of The Crimson King
  6. Red
  7. Tony Cadenza Deals It Slitheryacious-To-The-Max
  8. Neurotica
  9. One More Red Nightmare
  10. Indiscipline

CD Two

  1. Epitaph
  2. Radical Action II
  3. Level Five
  4. Starless
  5. 21st Century Schizoid Man
  6. Tony Cadenza Serves It Piping Hot
  7. Discipline
  8. Larks’ Tongues In Aspic Part II
  9. Islands

[Hat Tip – Ultimate Classic Rock]