John Mellencamp Announces New Album ‘Strictly A One-Eyed Jack’ & Shares Single

John Mellencamp will issue a new album, Strictly A One-Eyed Jack, via Republic Records on January 21, 2022. The renowned singer-songwriter also shared the single, “Chasing Rainbows.”

Strictly A One-Eyed Jack is Mellencamp’s first album of original material in four years since 2017’s Sad Clowns & Hillbillies. Ahead of the new record’s official announcement, Mellencamp shared the Strictly A One-Eyed Jack track, “Wasted Days,” a collaboration with Bruce Springsteen, the first between the fellow heartland rockers. Mellencamp wrote and produced “Wasted Days,” with Springsteen adding vocals and guitar.

While not many additional details have arrived with the LP announcement, both Mellencamp and The Boss have teased further collaboration on Strictly A One-Eyed Jack in the media. “Bruce is singing on the new record and is playing guitar,” Mellencamp told Billboard in May. The Boss contributed to album tracks “Did You Say Such A Thing” and “A Life Full Of Rain” in addition to “Wasted Days.”

“I worked on three songs on John’s album and I spent some time in Indiana with him,” Springsteen said the following month on SiriusXM’s E Street Radio. “I love John a lot. He’s a great songwriter and I have become very close [with him] and had a lot of fun with him. I sang a little bit on his record.”

The latest from the record is “Chasing Rainbows.” Check it out in the lyric video below:

Strictly A One-Eyed Jack Tracklist

  1. I Always Lie To Strangers
  2. Driving In The Rain
  3. I Am A Man That Worries
  4. Streets Of Galilee
  5. Sweet Honey Brown
  6. Did You Say Such A Thing
  7. Gone So Soon
  8. Wasted Days
  9. Strictly A One-Eyed Jack
  10. Chasing Rainbows
  11. Lie To Me
  12. A Life Full Of Rain