Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit Welcome Adia Victoria At The Ryman

Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit Welcome Adia Victoria At The Ryman

Jason Isbell and The 400 Unit closed out an eight-show residency at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium with help from Adia Victoria last night. Victoria joined the group for a Precious Bryant cover to start the encore after Jason Isbell and Margo Price sat-in during her opening set.

Victoria ended her support performance by bringing out Isbell on guitar and Price on vocals to augment her band for a cover of Ernest B. McTell’s “You Was Born To Die.” Both Jason and Margo previously contributed to the studio version of “You Was Born To Die” featured on Adia Victoria’s recently released album, A Southern Gothic.

Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit took the stage last night for a 19-song performance. The group continued to go heavy on material from 2020’s Reunions with eight tunes off the LP making the setlist. A highlight came early on when Isbell led the full-band debut of Reunions standout “River.”

The main set also included takes on Drivin’ N’ Cryin’s “Honeysuckle Blues” and The Black Crowes’ “Sometimes Salvation” in addition to originals. Both covers were among songs recorded by Isbell and company for their guest-filled Georgia Blue charity album. Victoria emerged at the beginning of last night’s encore for Precious Bryant’s “The Truth” in a reprise of her contribution to Georgia Blue. Isbell & The 400 Unit went at it alone to end the encore and residency with “Decoration Day” from Jason’s time in Drive-By Truckers and Reunions track “St. Peter’s Autograph.”

Watch fan-shot video of Jason Isbell and Margo Price joining Adia Victoria for “You Was Born To Die” below:


Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit at Ryman Auditorium

  • Alabama Pines
  • What’ve I Done to Help
  • Hope the High Road
  • It Gets Easier
  • River  
  • Overseas
  • Elephant  
  • Be Afraid
  • Tupelo
  • Honeysuckle Blue  
  • Sometimes Salvation  
  • Songs That She Sang in the Shower  
  • Dreamsicle
  • Only Children
  • 24 Frames  
  • Cover Me Up  
  • The Truth  
  • Decoration Day  
  • St. Peter’s Autograph

More Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit 2021 Ryman Residency on JamBase