Iggy Pop & Matt Sweeney Cover Velvet Underground’s ‘European Son’

Iggy Pop joined forces with Matt Sweeney to cover The Velvet Underground’s “European Son.” Out today, the pair’s rendition is the latest taste of the forthcoming I’ll Be Your Mirror: A Tribute To The Velvet Underground & Nico compilation, due out via Verve Records on September 24.

I’ll Be Your Mirror: A Tribute To The Velvet Underground & Nico, executive produced by the late Hal Willner, is a track-by-track reimagination of The Velvet Underground & Nico’s self-titled 1967 debut album. St. Vincent & Thomas Bartlett, Michael Stipe, Andrew Bird, King Princess and Fontaines D.C. are among those who contributed to the compilation. The 11-song set has previously been previewed with Kurt Vile & The Violators’ “Run Run Run,” Matt Berninger of The National’s “I’m Waiting For The Man” and Courtney Barnett’s “I’ll Be Your Mirror.”

“The Velvet Underground were rock and roll’s finest band. Iggy Pop remains rock and roll’s greatest singer,” Sweeney said in a press release. “I am thrilled and humbled that the joyous experience of getting deeply nasty with Iggy on ‘European Son’ can be heard by lifelong VU fans and newcomers.”

Check out a lyric video for the pair’s “European Son” cover below: