High & Rising Releases New Album ‘Howl’

High & Rising Releases New Album ‘Howl’

Recently formed trio High & Rising today released their debut album, Howl. The group consists of wife/husband couple Laura Farley (upright bass/vocals) and Jym Farley (acoustic guitar), along with Ben Rohde (percussion).

The band, which came together a little over one year ago, brought in a number of guest musicians to contribute to Howl. Those who appear on the record include Horseshoes & Hand Grenades’ Adam Greuel and Davey Lynch, The Big Wu’s Chris Castino, Chicken Wire Empire’s Ernest Brusubardis IV and Ryan Ogburn, Armchair Boogie’s Augie Dougherty, The People Brothers Band’s Craig Baumann, The Pat Watters Band’s Rick Krueuziger, Old Soul Society’s Leo Albertoni and Joseph Huber’s band’s Kenny Leiser.

“We are so thankful for the support we have received from our local, musical heroes within the Midwest music scene,” Laura Farley stated.

The 12 songs on Howl were co-written by Laura and Jym. The band coined the term “groovy grass” to describe their blend of folk, Americana, jam and bluegrass music.

“High & Rising’s freshman album Howl brings a fresh feeling and approach to bluegrass, or Americana-based, music,” said Greuel. “It’s always a good sign when you can hear a band at a distance and know who it is. That uniqueness often means that a band has found a sound that fits them and their own humanly vibrations.”

Purchase a copy of Howl via this link. Stream the new album below:

[Sponsored Content: Farley Jam is a JamBase client.]