Father John Misty Announces New Album ‘Chloë And The Next 20th Century’ & Shares Single

On April 8, Father John Misty will release a new studio album entitled Chloë And The Next 20th Century via Sub Pop and Bella Union. The 11-track follow-up to 2018’s God’s Favorite Customer includes lead single “Funny Girl,” which arrived today with an accompanying video.

The fifth Father John Misty studio album finds Tillman once again teaming on production with longtime collaborator Jonathan Wilson. Chloë And The Next 20th Century was written and recorded between August and December 2020. Drew Erickson provided arrangements with Dave Cerminara handling engineering and mixing duties.

The album was mainly recorded at Jonathan Wilson’s Five Star Studios facility. A session to capture strings, brass and woodwinds featuring Dan Higgins and Wayne Bergeron and many others took place at the legendary United Recordings in Los Angeles.

A limited edition vinyl box set adds covers of Chloë And The Next 20th Century tracks “Buddy’s Rendezvous” performed by Lana Del Rey and “Kiss Me (I Loved You)” by Jack Cruz.

The “Funny Girl” video was produced and directed by Nicholas Ashe Bateman. Check it out below:

Chloë And The Next 20th Century Tracklist

  1. Chloë
  2. Goodbye Mr. Blue
  3. Kiss Me (I Loved You)
  4. (Everything But) Her Love
  5. Buddy’s Rendezvous
  6. Q4
  7. Olvidado (Otro Momento)
  8. Funny Girl
  9. Only A Fool
  10. We Could Be Strangers
  11. The Next 20th Century