Eric Clapton Details New Album ‘The Lady In The Balcony: Lockdown Sessions’

Renowned guitarist Eric Clapton will release a new album entitled The Lady In The Balcony: Lockdown Sessions via Mercury Studios on November 12. The 17-track LP features mostly acoustic versions of songs from Eric’s repertoire and more performed live by Clapton and his band earlier this year at Cowdray House in West Sussex, England.

Eric Clapton was joined by longtime bandmates bassist Nathan East, drummer Steve Gadd and keyboardist Chris Stainton for the sessions documented on The Lady In The Balcony. Russ Titelman produced the LP.

The musicians recorded stripped-down renditions of such Clapton repertoire classics as “Layla,” “Bell Bottom Blues,” “Tears In Heaven,” “After Midnight” and “Going Down Slow.” Eric, Nathan, Steve and Chris also interpreted “Black Magic Woman” and “Man Of The World” from Peter Green’s time in Fleetwood Mac.

Eric Clapton, who slammed COVID-19 lockdowns and vaccination efforts, put together the sessions after his May 2021 concerts at London’s Royal Albert Hall were canceled. “The mostly acoustic set was envisioned to be like an Eric Clapton Unplugged II, but not quite, as three songs are played with electric guitars,” press materials announcing the album explained. “The result became far more than simply a sequence of greatest hits. Rather, it’s one of the most intimate and authentic performances of Clapton’s entire career, an offering flush with real insight into the make-up of his indelible catalogue.”

Watch a trailer for The Lady In The Balcony: Lockdown Sessions below:

The Lady In The Balcony: Lockdown Sessions Tracklist

  1. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
  2. Golden Ring
  3. Black Magic Woman
  4. Man of the World
  5. Kerry
  6. After Midnight
  7. Bell Bottom Blues
  8. Key to the Highway
  9. River of Tears
  10. Rock Me Baby
  11. Believe in Life
  12. Going Down Slow
  13. Layla
  14. Tears in Heaven
  15. Long Distance Call
  16. Bad Boy
  17. Got My Mojo Working