Charley Crockett Announces New Album ‘Music City USA’ & Shares Single

Charley Crockett will issue a new album, Music City USA, on September 17 through Son of Davy/Thirty Tigers. The singer-songwriter previewed the record with the single, “I Need Your Love.”

Music City USA will mark the second full-length release of 2021 from the prolific Charley Crockett, following his tribute to country singer-songwriter James “Slim” Hand, and his 10th full-length release in the last six years. The singer-songwriter once again teamed up with producer Mark Neill, who helmed Charley’s 2020 album Welcome To Hard Times, for Music City USA. The collaborators also returned to Neill’s Soil of the South Productions recording facility in Valdosta, Georgia to cut the new record.

Crockett, a Texas native, shared the first taste of the 16-track effort, “I Need Your Love,” which he detailed in a statement:

I like to think of my sound as “Gulf & Western,” and this number here is all gulf coast music. Something you’d hear out of southeast Texas recording studios or southern Louisiana. I’d been foolin’ around with this song for a while, and when we went to record it, we decided at the last minute to double the length of the chorus. I felt right then that we had something. I’d wanted to bring the horns back for a couple tunes on this album. Soul and Country R&B from the deep south is a whole lot of who I am. I hope it shows through on “I Need Your Love.”

“I Need Your Love” arrived with a music video directed by Bobby Cochran. Watch it below:

Music City USA Tracklist

  1. Honest Fight
  2. I Need Your Love
  3. The World Just Broke My Heart
  4. Are We Lonesome Yet
  5. This Foolish Game
  6. Round This World
  7. Music City USA
  8. Just So You Know
  9. Lies And Regret
  10. I Won’t Cry
  11. Smoky
  12. Muddy Water
  13. 518
  14. Only Game In Town
  15. Hanger On
  16. Skip A Rope