Bruce Springsteen Announces ‘The Legendary 1979 No Nukes Concerts’ Film & Live Album

Bruce Springsteen And The E Street Band’s headlining performances from a pair of September 1979 benefit concerts at New York City’s Madison Square Garden are featured on The Legendary 1979 No Nukes Concerts, a film and live album set for release in multiple formats this November via Sony Music Entertainment’s Premium Content Division, in partnership with Sony Pictures Home Entertainment. While the film is due out for digital download on November 16 and digital rental on November 23, both the movie and live album arrive in physical formats (2CD with DVD, 2CD with Blu-Ray and 2LP) on November 19.

Longtime Springsteen collaborator Thom Zimny edited the original 16mm footage from the September 21 and 22, 1979 No Nukes: The Muse Concerts For A Non-Nuclear Future benefit concerts into one composite performance for the film. Bob Clearmountain remixed the audio for the upcoming release. Highlights from the 90-minute set include live favorites “Born To Run” and “Thunder Road” along with early versions of “The River” and “Sherry Darling” as well as a cover of Maurice Williams’ “Stay” featuring special guests Jackson Browne, Tom Petty and Rosemary Butler.

“A few years ago, I started re-examining the filmed archives for Bruce and the Band’s appearances at the No Nukes concerts of 1979,” explained Zimny. “I quickly realized that these were the best performances and best filming from the Band’s legendary Seventies, and dedicated myself to bringing out the full potential of the footage. Having worked as Bruce’s principal director and editor for the last 20 years, I can say without reservation that this newly re-edited, re-mixed and restored ninety minute film is the gold standard for Bruce and the Band live during one of their greatest creative periods.”

“The Seventies were a golden period in the history of Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, and the Legendary 1979 No Nukes Concerts is the greatest document of that era we will ever have,” added Bruce’s manager, Jon Landau. “It’s a pure rock show from beginning to end, the energy level is transcendent, and the mastery of the art and the craft of rock music is awe inspiring.”

Today’s announcement comes on Springsteen’s 72nd birthday. Preview The Legendary 1979 No Nukes Concerts by watching the trailer below:

The Legendary 1979 No Nukes Concerts Tracklist

  1. Prove It All Night
  2. Badlands
  3. The Promised Land
  4. The River
  5. Sherry Darling
  6. Thunder Road
  7. Jungleland
  8. Rosalita Come Out Tonight
  9. Born To Run
  10. Stay
  11. Detroit Medley
  12. Quarter To Three
  13. Rave On