Brian Wilson Reworks Beach Boys Classics For New Album ‘At My Piano’

Brian Wilson recorded solo takes on songs from throughout his illustrious career, including a bevy of Beach Boys classics such as lead single “God Only Knows,” for the new album At My Piano. The 15-track LP is set for release through Decca on November 19.

“In My Room,” “Good Vibrations,” “California Girls” and “I Just Wasn’t Made For These Times” are more of the Beach Boys songs that Wilson stripped to their essence with just Brian playing piano on At My Piano. He also reimagined solo cut “Love & Mercy” and laid down “Sketches Of Smile” featuring a medley of tunes from Smile.

“We had an upright piano in our living room and from the time I was 12 years old I played it each and every day. I never had a lesson, I was completely self-taught. I can’t express how much the piano has played such an important part in my life,” Wilson said in a statement heralding the upcoming release of At My Piano.

“It has bought me comfort, joy and security,” added Brian. “It has fuelled my creativity as well as my competitive nature. I play it when I’m happy or feeling sad. I love playing for people and I love playing alone when no one is listening. Honestly, the piano and the music I create on it has probably saved my life.”

Hear “God Only Knows” from At My Piano below:

At My Piano Tracklist

  1. God Only Knows
  2. In My Room
  3. Don’t Worry Baby
  4. California Girls
  5. The Warmth of the Sun
  6. Wouldn’t It Be Nice
  7. You Still Believe in Me
  8. I Just Wasn’t Made for These Times
  9. Sketches of Smile: Our Prayer/Heroes and Villains/Wonderful/Surfs Up
  10. Surf’s Up
  11. Friends
  12. Till I Die
  13. Love and Mercy
  14. Mt Vernon Farewell
  15. Good Vibrations

[Hat Tip – Rolling Stone]